Dr. Mas Takashima is an Associate Professor in the Bobby R. Alford Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, Baylor College of Medicine (BCM), and Associate Professor in the Department of Neurosurgery.  He is the Director of the Sinus Center at BCM and is one of the most experienced surgeons for sinus disease, sinonasal tumors, and midline skull base tumors.  Utilizing his interests in technology, he has helped pioneer the utilization of several new techniques, such as 3D endoscopy and utilization of virtual reality, to help plan for and treat complex sinonasal/skull base tumors and disorders.  In addition to his clinical expertise, Dr. Takashima also has a strong interest in education and thus serves as the Residency Program Director for the Bobby R. Alford Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery.  He is one of the founding board members of the Otolaryngology Program Director’s Organization (OPDO) and teaches other Program Directors on the national level.  He has pioneered novel educational techniques and has published on various aspects of Head & Neck residency training. 

After growing up in the Spring Branch area of Houston, he received his Bachelor of Arts degree in biochemistry from Rice University, he matriculated to Baylor College of Medicine where he received his Doctor of Medicine degree in 1996, followed by in internship in General Surgery, 1997, and a residency in Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, 2002, both from BCM.  Afterwards, he obtained advanced endoscopic sinus and skull base surgical training at the University of Adelaide in Adelaide, Australia.  He also is a fellow of the American Association of Otolaryngic Allergy and is board certified both in Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery and Sleep Medicine.  He has also been on faculty at the University of Colorado prior to returning back to Houston to join the faculty at BCM.  He currently holds a joint faculty appointment at BCM and the Houston Methodist Hospital.

Among honors received by Dr. Takashima are the Doctor’s Choice Award  (Top Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgeon voted by his peers) 2008, 2010-2013, Doctor’s Choice Award (Top Allergist) 2012-2013, The Best Doctors in America, 2009-2014 and the American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery Foundation Honor Award, 2013.